Appointments & Achievements (September 14 2023)

The Australasian Research Management Society announces new board members. * President: Tania Bezzobs (UTS) * Treasurer: Lachlan Doughney (RMIT) * Secretary: Kate Swanson (Uni Queensland) * Committee: Sharon Aburn (Monash U), Emma Collyer (UNSW), Yordanka Krastev (Chrysalis Health Group), Brett Szmajda (National AI Centre, CSIRO) * Jaylene Wehipeihana (Uni Auckland and Universities NZ)

Council of Australasian University Directors of IT2023 award winners are, * emerging leaders: Jamie Hart (Uni Canterbury), Jodi Rusden (Uni Tasmania) * research support: CSIRO’s Cloud Right* student experience: Murdoch U * operational excellence: Murdoch U

Jonathan Crowe becomes dean of law at Uni Southern Queensland. He moves from Bond U.

Uni Adelaide’s Christian Doonan becomes a Future Industry Making Fellow. The  role is jointly funded by the university and state government. He will researcch renewable energy, minerals and resources.

The State Library of NSW’s ANZAC Memorial Trustees Military History Prize goes to June Factor (Uni Melbourne), for Soldiers and aliens: men in the Australian army’s employment companies during World War Two (Melbourne University Publishing).

Leanne Holt moves from Macquarie U to become inaugural DVC Indigenous at UNSW.

Craig Jones is Queensland’s voced trainer of the year. Mr Jones is a farrier at Uni Queensland, Gatton.

Frank Jotzo (ANU) is retained to advise the Commonwealth on carbon leakage, particularly among steel and cement producers. It occurs when businesses relocate to countries with laxer emission rules.

David McInnis (Uni Melbourne) joins the board of Bell Shakespeare Company, presumably to help enact the new “cultural partnership” between the two.

Vlado Perkovic becomes UNSW Provost, moving from medicine dean. He replaces inaugural provost Anne Simmons who announced her exit in March. Since then, the provost portfolio has been split into three acting roles.

Nicola Roxon is appointed chair of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. She was Health Minister and Attorney General in previous Labor governments.

Veena Sahajwalla (UNSW) wins the 2023 Women in Design Award for her “sustainable engineering innovations and significant contributions to a waste-free world.”

The WA premier’s science awards for 2023 go to, * scientist of the year: Kadambot Siddique (UWA) * mid-career: Britta Regli-von Ungern-Sternberg (Telethon Kids Institute and UWA), Hongqi Sun (UWA) * early career: David Gozzard (UWA).

Grattan Institute CEO Danielle Wood is the new head of the Productivity Commission. She takes the job after the Treasurer’s original pick, Chris Barrett, decided to become Secretary of Victoria’s finance department.  



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!