Appointments and Achievements (October 26 2023)

The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia announces the 2023 Paul Bourke Awards for early career researchers. * Denise Angelo (linguistics-ANU) * Arjuna Dibley (law and legal studies – Uni Melbourne) * Lise Lafferty (health sciences-UNSW) * Ruben Loaiza-Maya (econometrics – Monash U).

Matthew Clarke is Deakin U’s new DVC Research and Innovation. He steps up from PVC Researcher Development.

Jia Tina Du becomes head of the School of Information and Communication Studies at  Charles Sturt U. She moves from Uni SA.

Elizabeth Hartland (Hudson IMR) becomes president of Association of Australian MRIs. She became president-elect last December.

James Hart becomes policy and research manager at Independent Higher Education Australia. Dr Hart joins from the Commonwealth education department.

Mary Kennedy (Edith Cowan U) has a postdoc from the WA Cancer Council to create a referral system to connect patients to advise on exercise.

Laura MacKay (Doherty Institute) wins the Association of Australian Medical Research Institute’s inaugural rising star award.

Ben Saul (Uni Sydney) is appointed United Nations Special Rapporteur on Human Rights and Counter-Terrorism. 

Glenn Thompson (Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union) has a four year appointment to the board of the National Reconstruction Fund.



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!