Appointments and Achievements (December 7th)

Gabriele Bammer (ANU) is elected Inaugural President of the Global Alliance for Inter- and Transdisciplinarity (

The new executive team for the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education is confirmed. Michael Cowling (Central Queensland U) is president 2024-’25 and Elaine Huber (Uni Sydney) is VP. Mark Schier (Uni New England) continues as treasurer. Re-elected members include Kwong Nui Sim (Sydney International School of Technology and Commerce), Sue Gregory (Uni New England), Hazel Jones (Griffith U, previously co-opted). They join returning committee members Sandy Barker (Uni SA), Thomas Cochrane (Uni Melbourne), Petrea Redmond (Uni Southern Queensland), and Robert Vanderburg (Central Queensland U).

Frank Bongiorno (ANU) wins the ACT Book of the Year for Dreamers and Schemers: a political history of Australia (La Trobe UP).

Robyn Brandenburg Federation U), Ellen Larsen (Uni Southern Queensland), Richard Sallis (Uni Melbourne) and Alyson Simpson (Uni Sydney) win EduResearch Matters blog of the year for, “Teachers now: why I left and where I have gone,” which is HERE.

Dementia Australia’s BrainTrack is named “best app for good” by Google. “We applaud BrainTrack’s unique focus on declining cognitive abilities and its ingenious combination of two beloved activities: travel and learning,” is the citation.

Engineers Australia names Murdoch U’s Boola Katitjin teaching building project of the year. It also wins the research and education category at the World Architecture Awards.

Qing-Long Han (Swinburne U) is appointed an honorary teaching fellow of Engineers Australia. As previously reported in FC, Sally Male (Uni Melbourne) is the World Federation of  Engineering’s medallist in engineering education.

Monash U wins the diversity, equity and inclusion strategy award from the Australian Human Resources Institute.

The Society of University Lawyers Limited has elected new Directors:

  • Alice Ashby – University of South Australia
  • Dawnie Evans – University of Technology, Sydney
  • Christopher Morey – University of Adelaide

The National Health and Medical Research Council announces its “ten of the best” research projects funded in 2019-20.

  • Rhonda Marriott (Murdoch U): delivering a legacy of culturally safe maternity care
  • Richard Lewis (Uni Queensland): future pain treatments using venoms
  • Lisa Pont (Macquarie U): data driven change in pharmacy practices
  • Cath Chamberlain (La Trobe U): improving cardiometabolic health outcomes in Indigenous Australian mothers
  • Robert Gilchrist (UNSW): innovation to improve fertility treatment
  • Nicky Thomas (Uni SA): a trojan horse strategy for antimicrobial biologicals
  • Maree Toombs (Uni Queensland): community designed and delivered suicide prevention
  • Linda Wakim (Uni Melbourne, Peter Doherty Institute): natural immunity to extend vaccine protection
  • Kaarin Anstey (ANU): driver safety screening
  • Lex Doyle (Murdoch CRI): health of premature babies

Anatoly Rozenfeld receives the Australian Nuclear Association’s 2023 Award. He is director of Uni Wollongong’s Centre for Medical Radiation Physics.

The Royal Society of NSW announces its 2023 career excellence awards medals: Helen Christensen (UNSW), Qilin Wang (UTS), Aunty Francis Bodkin (Western Sydney U), Brendan Nuen (UNSW)

discipline awards/lectureships: Moninya Roughan (UNSW), Maria Kavallaris (UNSW), Kaarin Ansley (UNSW) history and philosophy of science: Hans Pols (Uni Sydney).

South Australian research funders have a scheme  (paying $20 000 to $60 000 for a year) to assist projects with “high potential” to win Medical Research Future Fund grants. First winners include,

  • Tina Brodie (SAHMRI) – Improving mental health and wellbeing for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders
  • Tesfahun Eshetie (Uni SA) – data based strategies to enhance at-home aged care and reduce hospitalisations
  • Johan Verians (Uni Adelaide) – using AI to convert conversations in consultation into clinical notes

Alastair Stewart (Victor Chang Cardiac RI) wins the 2023 Commonwealth Government award for excellence in health and medical research.

At Uni Queensland the VC’s award for excellence goes to the alumni book fair team, Amanda Briggs, Kathryn Cowe, Braden Asujamaa, Nina Gardiner, Greta Openshaw, Taylor Bartels, Hayley Lees, Camille Brandon, Britt Wilkins and Renae Bourke.

Uni Wollongong wins the international education and training award in the Commonwealth’s 2023 export awards.

The Society of University Lawyers Limited has elected new Directors:

  • Alice Ashby – University of South Australia
  • Dawnie Evans – University of Technology, Sydney
  • Christopher Morey – University of Adelaide



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!