Appointments and Announcements of the Summer (31 January)

Igor Aharonovich (UTS) is a new fellow of the International Society for Optics and Photonics.

Kaarin Anstey (UNSW) joins the World Dementia Council.

Dinesh Arya becomes Chief Medical Officer of Tasmania and an adjunct professor at the state’s university. He moves from CMO for the ACT.

Di Bain (Di Bain Media) becomes chair of the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts advisory board. WAAPA is based at Edith Cowan U.  She has a three year term, replacing Mario D’Orazio.

Caron Beaton-Wells is incoming head of the ANZ School of Government, starting next month. She moves from Uni Melbourne’s business school.

Aude Bernard (Uni Queensland) receives an Early Career Award from the International Union for the Scientific Study of Population.

Meredith Blake (UWA) becomes academic member of the Law Reform Commission of WA.

Katie Booth returns to Uni Sydney to become principal gifts manager. She was away for a couple of years working for Labor ministers.

Darren Bryant is inaugural dean of learning future for Curtin U’s humanities faculty.

Mark Cassidy becomes DVC R at Uni Melbourne. He steps up from dean of engineering and IT.

Graeme Clark (Uni Melbourne) is awarded the 2024 Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

At the Australian Technology Network Frank Coletta is interim ED, following the departure of Luke Sheehy, who is to be CEO of Universities Australia.

Heather Cook starts mid-January as CEO of the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission and director of the Australian Institute of Criminology. She is a former deputy director of ASIO.

Guy Curtis (UWA) becomes co-editor of Higher Education Research & Development

Patricia Davidson (Uni Wollongong VC) joins the board of medical research lobby, Research Australia.

Megan Davis (UNSW) is appointed to the Gough Whitlam and Malcolm Fraser Chair of Australian Studies at Harvard U for 2024-25.

The Department of Education has a working group to monitor the entrepreneur start-up pilot running this year at 12 universities. Chair is Dom English (DoE) and members are, James Alexander (Galileo Ventures), Rowena Barrett (QUT), Libby Briggs (Scale Investors), Dean Moss (Group of Eight), Sandra Roussel (Department of Industry, Science and Resources), Leonore Ryan (Uni Tasmania), Luke Sheehy (listed as Australian Technology Network but now Group of Eight), Chandra Sundareswaran (Curtin U), Tony Surtees (Australian Government Entrepreneurs Programme Committee), Julie Trell (Playful Purpose), Alec Webb (Regional Universities Network), John Wellard (Universities Australia) and Jaynaya Winmar (Essential Services Australia).

Andrew Francis (now Western Sydney U) announces a May move – to become head of the UNSW school of maths and stats.

Kate Galloway becomes dean of law at Australian Catholic U, replacing Patrick Keyzer. She moved from Griffith U. 

Roy Green (UTS) is appointed to the CSIRO Board

New appointments to the Commonwealth’s Industry Innovation and Science Australia Board include, Fang Chen (UTS). Chief Scientist Cathy Foley is reappointed deputy chair. IISA is an “an independent statutory board of entrepreneurs, investors, researchers and educators,” which is, responsible for promotion of investment in industry and Australia’s innovation, science and research system. It sits in the Department of Industry, Science and Resources.

Ammar Kaka is the new president of Curtin U Dubai. He was previously president of Bahrain’s Applied Science U.

Rosemary Kayess leaves UNSW to become Disability Discrimination Commissioner in the Australian Human Rights Commission.

Angelle Laurence is appointed Chief People Officer at Australian Catholic U. She moves from Uni Southern Queensland.

As of March, David MacIntyre becomes director of Uni Adelaide’s Robinson Research Institute, (“health outcomes for mothers and babies”). He joins from Imperial College London.

James McLaren becomes VC of University of Divinity. He moves from DVC R at Australian Catholic U.

Marilyn McMahon is confirmed as dean of Deakin U’s law school. She was previous deputy and been acting since May.

Joshua McNally is the new CEO of Media Centre for Education Research Australia. He moves from MCOMMs director of the Council of Ambulance Authorities.

Marise Payne (“proud to call Western Sydney home”) is appointed a professor of practice – international relations and public policy at Western Sydney U. Ms Payne is a former senator for NSW and defence and foreign affairs ministers in coalition governments.

Ministers in the new Queensland ministry include Lance McCallum (portfolios including training and skills development). Dianne Farmer has the education portfolio with Corrine McMillan assisting. HE does not have a minster of its own.

Sharon Pickering has started as VC of Monash U.

Aruna Sathanapally is the new CEO of the Grattan Institute. She moves from NSW Treasury, replacing Danielle Wood who left Grattan to chair the Productivity Commission.  

Mark Scott (VC Uni Sydney) becomes Group of Eight chair, replacing former ANU VC Brian Schmidt.

Luke Sheehy becomes chief executive of Universities Australia next month. He moves from the Australian Technology Network.

Business leader Michael Still took over as chancellor of Uni Wollongong just before Christmas. He replaced Christine McLoughlin.

Anna Tsikouris will become Monash U CFO in April. She will join from the same role at ANU.

Lisa Paul, the longest-standing Secretary of Education in Australia, has commenced as Chancellor of the University of Canberra, succeeding Tom Calma.

Cheryl Kickett-Tucker (Curtin U) joins the board of the WA Institute of Sport.

Craig Ward is appointed the Commonwealth’s Student Identifiers Registrar. The Unique Student Identifier site does not mention previous appointments..

SueAnne Ware becomes head of Curtin U’s School of Design and the Built Environment. She moves from Uni Newcastle.



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!