Appointments and Achievements (29 February)

Winners of the 2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching include; * teacher of the year: Zala Volic (Monash U) * career achievement: Denise Chalmers (Edith Cowan U) and * indigenous education: Kerry Bodie (Griffith U). * teaching excellence-society and culture: Ann Black (Uni Queensland) * teaching excellence- science: Sarah Creswell (Griffith U) * teaching excellence-science: Alexander Maier (ANU) * teaching excellence-business: Lisa Powell (Monash U) *

Rachel Ankeny has announced her departure from the University of Adelaide to become Professor and Chair of the Philosophy Group at Wageningen University in the Netherlands.

John Dewar is keeping busy. Just weeks after stepping down as VC of La Trobe U he was named as chair of the Commonwealth’s Higher Education Standards Panel, shortly followed by news he is joining consultants KordaMentha’s performance improvement team.

Bob Gordon is inaugural chair of the Commonwealth and Tasmanian governments’ Australian Forest and Wood Innovation Research Institute. Mr Gordon is a former president of industry association, Forestry Australia.

Vanessa Guthrie starts as Curtin U chancellor on April 1. She has served on the university Council since 2017.

Paul Hodgson becomes director of CQU’s Centre for Hydrogen and Renewable Energy.

Cordelia Jackson as the new Director of the Academic Support Unit. Cordelia has over 20 years of experience in senior management roles at universities across Australia, most recently as Director of the Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Queensland.

Veronika Kelly is the new Chair of The Australian Council of University Art and Design Schools (ACUADS). Veronika is Associate Professor in Design and Professorial Lead, University of South Australia.

Blanca Pizzani as the new Director of Library Services. Blanca has a distinguished career of over 30 years in Australian tertiary education libraries, most recently at the University of New England (UNE).

Margaret Sheil (QUT VC) becomes chair of the independent expert panel of Reef 2050, which advises the Commonwealth and Queensland governments on the Great Barrier Reef.  

Uni Queensland has renewed VC Deborah Terry’s contract for five years, to February ’29. 



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!