Appointments & Achievements (August 10 2023)

Swinburne U VC Pascale Quester is appointed to a second five year term. Her first does not expire for two years, meaning she is now in the job to 2030.

NSW deputy premier Prue Carr becomes interim minister for skills, TAFE and tertiary education and training. She replaces Tim Crakanthorp who was sacked over allegations that he breached the state ministerial code of conduct with regard to family property holdings. 

Peter Gunning (UNSW) is a 2023 Fellow of the American Society of Cell Biology.

Cheryl McCarthy, (Uni Southern Queensland) wins AgriFutures’ Australia researcher of the year. AgriF is the Agriculture Research and Development Corporation covering 13 industries, from chicken meat to ginger.

Sandi Matthews starts next week as Uni Sydney’s Chief Information Officer. She moved from the NSW Department of Education.

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia announces 2023 fellows, including; Arthur Christopoulos (Monash U) and Faye McMillan (UTS).

Luke Sheehy has a second term as ED of the Australian Technology Network of Universities.

Dilan Thampapillai becomes dean of law at Uni Wollongong next month. He moves from UNSW.

T.J. Thomson (RMIT) wins the Australian Academy of the Humanities’ Max Crawford Medal, for “achievement and promise in the humanities.” He “helps to build media literacy and address misinformation and disinformation.”

The WA Premier’s Fellows are,  Science: Graeme Cumming (UWA) and Ben Phillips (Curtin U) EMC: Abbie Rogers (UWA) Brenton von Takach (Curtin U).Kerrie Wilson starts as Queensland’s Chief Scientist in November. She will move from QUT.



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!