Appointments & Achievements (October 5 2023)

Australian Research Council announces Discovery Indigenous Grants go to, * Sarah Bourke (ANU) “Indigenous-determined pathways to living well in a city” * Sheelagh Daniels-Mayes (Uni Melbourne) “university practices and policy with a view to creating new opportunities for Indigenous staff, students and future workers living with a disability” * Nicole Watson (UTS) “create a better understanding of cultural safety in the legal profession”

Jon Buckley will becomes ED for Allied Health & Human Performance at Uni SA next month. It’s an internal appointment.

As of November, David de Carvalho will be ED of Uni Notre Dame Australia’s Faculty of Education, Philosophy and Theology. He moves from CEO of the Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority 

The Leukemia Foundation awards Breakthrough Fellowships to Ashley Ng (Royal Melbourne Hospital, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Walter and Eliza Hall Institute) and Ashwin Unnikrishnan (UNSW).

Sango Mananty (ANU) joins the board of the Australian-ASEAN Council. Nicholas Farrelly (Uni Tasmania) is renewed.

Jonathan Covell is confirmed as Macquarie U’s Chief Information and Digital Officer. He has acted since June.

Sarah Lewis is the new dean of Health Sciences at Western Sydney U. She moves from Uni Sydney.

Xiaoyu Sun receives ANU’s inaugural pioneering women lectureship. Her’s is in software engineering.

In Victoria new premier, Jacinta Allan appoints her ministry. Deputy premier Ben Carroll is minister for education and medical research. Gayle Tierney continues as minister for skills and training and while it is not mentioned presumably keeps higher education. And in NSW Steve Whan becomes minister for skills, TAFE and HE – replacing the dropped Tim Crakanthorp.

Tony Willis becomes ED of the Australian Council of Deans of Science. He moves from consulting.



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!