Appointments & Achievements (October 19 2023)

Michelle Lincoln has been appointed DVC A at Uni Canberra. She moves up from ED Health at the university.

Fergus McLachlan is Uni Sydney’s senior advisor on defence and national security. He is a retired Australian Army major general. 

Hesham El Gamal will become engineering dean at Uni Sydney, commencing in July. He will replace Willy Zwaenepoel, who will continue at the university as a “distinguished senior academic.”  Professor El Gamal steps up from deputy dean of the faculty.

Julian Epps becomes dean of engineering at UNSW. He steps up from head of school of eletrical engineering and telecommunications.

Nancy Huggett is incoming University Secretary at Uni Melbourne, moving from UNSW.

Tarryn Kille (Uni Southern Queensland) joins the board of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority.

Kevin Wheldall (Macquarie U) is Learning Difficulties Australia’s eminent researcher for 2023.

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences announces its 2023 fellows;

* James Best (Austin Health) * Catriona Bradshaw (Melbourne Sexual Health Centre) * Joshua Burns (Uni Sydney) * Clara Chow (Uni Sydney) *Jamie Craig (Flinders University) * Shyamali Dharmage (Uni Melbourne) * Paul Fitzgerald (ANU) * Lyn Gilbert (Uni Sydney) * Martha Hickey (Uni Melbourne) * Michael Hofman (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre) * Rebecca Ivers (UNSW) * Yun Chor Gary Lee (Uni WA) * Jian Li (Monash U) * Gail Matthews (UNSW) * Danielle Mazza (Monash U) * Mandana Nikpour (Uni Sydney) * Sant-Rayn Pasricha (Walter and Eliza Hall IMR ) * Anne-Louise Ponsonby (Florey Institute) * Julie Redfern (Uni Sydney) Britta Regli-von Ungern-Sternberg (Uni WA) * Ego Seeman (Austin Health/Uni Melbourne) * Stuart Tangye (Garvan IMR) * Susan Walker Uni Melbourne) * Angela Webster (Uni Sydney) * Andrew Wei (Walter and Eliza Hall IMR) * Johanna Westbrook (Macquarie U) * Erica Wood (Monash U).

Knowledge Commercialisation Australia announces its awards, including professional of the year: Alistair Hick (Monash U) * industry collaboration: OCIUS Technologies and UNSW * spin-out: Hysata and Uni Wollongong * knowledge exchange: Macquarie U and Australian Hearing Hub * invention: Hybrid Imaging Catheter and Uni Adelaide.

The 2023 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science go to;

Prize for Science: Michelle Simmons (UNSW) “for her pioneering developments in quantum computing”

Innovation: Glenn King (Uni Queensland): discovering funnel web spider venom can be used for pharmaceuticals to treat chronic pain, epilepsy and stroke

Primary school teaching: Judith Stutchbury (Kalkie State School, Bundaberg Qld)

Secondary school teaching: Donna Buckley (John Curtin College of the Arts, WA) 

Life sciences: Chris Greening (Monash U) atmospherically-powered microbes

Physical sciences: Yuerui Lu (ANU) nanoscience for electronics

New innovator: Lara Herrero (Griffith U): diagnosis, treatment, management of viral infections.

The (UK) Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering for 2023 goes to the inventors of the PERC solar cell technology Martin Green (UNSW) Andrew Blakers (ANU),  Jianhua Zhao (formerly UNSW, now Tera Scholar Tech) and Aihua Wang (UNSW and later ChinaSunergy).

Uni Melbourne announces the 2023 Marles Medallists (for ten years of research achievement) are Felicity Baker (Fine Arts and Music) and Brett Manley (Medicine, Dentistry, Health).  The Woodward Medal, for HASS or STEM research published in the last five years goes to Jennifer June (Medicine, Dentistry, Health) and David McInnis (Arts).



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!