Appointments & Acheivements (12 June)

Uni Queensland emeritus Professor Peter Andrews is named a Queensland Great for ’24. He played a “significant role” in establishing biotech in the State and was Qld’s inaugural Chief Scientist.


Frederick Anseel is confirmed as UNSW dean of business. He joined UNSW in 2019 and has been interim dean since this January.


Larissa Behrendt (UTS) is appointed to the National Library of Australia’s council


Katerina Kapobassis is Uni Melbourne’s new VP-Administration and Finance and COO. It’s an internal appointment.


At UWA, Amit Chakma has a second term as Vice-Chancellor and business leader Diane Smith-Gander is incoming Chancellor, replacing Robert French.


Kings Birthday Honours include

Companion of the Order of Australia: Karen Canfell (Uni Sydney)

Officer of the Order of Australia: Ross Coppel (Monash U) * Jo Anne Douglass (Uni Melbourne) * John Furness (Uni Melbourne) * Suzanne Hand (UNSW) * Thomas Maschmeyer (Uni Sydney) * Donald Nutbeam (Uni Sydney) * Kate Smith-Miles (Uni Melbourne)

Member of the Order of Australia: Amanda Baric (Uni Melbourne) * Elivio Bonollo (Uni Canberra) * Thea Brown (Monash U) * Michael Buxton (RMIT) * Kathleen Clapham (Uni Wollongong) * John Cullen (Uni Sydney) * Jacqueline Curtis (UNSW)

* John De Groot (Uni Queensland) * Katina D’Onise (Uni Adelaide) * Kathleen Eagar (UNSW, QUT) * Sharon Goldfeld (Uni Melbourne) * Glen Gole (Uni Queensland) * Heather Goodall (UTS) * Elizabeth Hartland (Hudson IMR) * Anthony Holley (Uni Queensland) * Christine Jeffries UWA) * Robert Kelly (UTS) * Elizabeth Kendall (Griffith U) * Pauline Kerr (ANU) * Lisa Kervin (Uni Wollongong) * Linda Kochanski (Uni Southern Queensland) * Brett McDermott (James Cook U) * Brendan Moore (ANZ College of Anaesthetists) * James Mullins (Deakin U) * Tracey O’Brien (UNSW) * Gretta Peci (Uni Tasmania) * Michael Pender (Uni Queensland) * Darren Pennay (ANU) * Carolyn Quadrio (UNSW) * Helen Reddel (Macquarie U) * Philippa Rodda (Uni Melbourne) * Peter Rossdeutscher (UWA) * David Russell (Royal Melbourne Hospital) * Una Ryan (Murdoch U) * Gregory Scalia (Uni Queensland) * James Scurry (Uni Newcastle) * John Skerritt (Uni Melbourne) * Andrew Stephen (Uni Oxford) * Jane Tomnay (Uni Melbourne) * Peter van Heerden (Hebrew Uni of Jerusalem) *



Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribe to us to always stay in touch with us and get latest news, insights, jobs and events!